Wim Wenders Awarded The Rheinische Kulturpeis

Wim Wenders

Wim Wenders is the recipient of Germany’s 2016 Grand Prize for Culture. The award recognises outstanding artistic achievement and contribution to German cultural life.  Previous winners include Pina Bausch, Tony Cragg and Hilla Becher.

On presenting the award the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Sparkassen Kulturstiftung said, ‘The foundation honours Wim Wenders for his diverse artistic output, which goes far beyond the award-winning documentaries and feature films which have made him world famous. This year the prize has been given to many art forms united in one person.’ 

Back to news

Blain|Southern London

4 Hanover Square
London W1S 1BP

+44 (0)20 7493 4492

Blain|Southern Berlin

Potsdamer Straße 77–87
(Mercator Höfe)
10785 Berlin

+49 (0)30 6449 31510


Private section